Humility over Pride

Photosource

Oh, I am not the smartest in class, and sometimes even feeling like I’m part of the bottom thirds. I have been brooding about this thought for the past days, hence I could not write anything positive in my blog. Either I was too proud to even say that, or I was just really feeling down, bordering to depression with those thoughts.

Writing makes me feel better, and writing about this might make me realize things that could comfort me. Blogging about this and putting it in public may very well humble me even more. Because I think right now, my pride has been getting in the way and has been making me feel worse about my grades.

In the course of trying to uplift myself, I have talked to different people about my sadness, hoping I could hear a thing or two that might make me feel better.

My brother, who’s always been encouraging said this:

“Remember what dad used to say, ‘your patients will not ask what grade you got in medicine’ The important thing is to get through it even if you need to go through the eye of the needle. I guess being a doctor involves more of the heart than the mind. Heart over brains, passion over neurons, love over information, humility over pride, and God over success.”

Of course nothing in this gives an excuse for one not to be competent in the medical field. The fight is not yet over, there’s still so much to be done, still so much to learn.

It could rain pretty bad one day, but there’s nothing like the warmth and comfort you get from friends and family who care.

7 thoughts on “Humility over Pride

  1. Hang in there! Grades do not always measure that which it should measure. Grades test not just knowledge, but also speed, occasionally honesty, and the ability to handle pressure. So it is okay to not be on the top. An honest “C” is better than a dishonest “A”. Sometimes we get “C’s” because we didn’t finish all the questions, even though we know all the answers. And some people can be very book smart and exam smart, but do not know how to apply that smartness out in the field, in real life. And that is where the real test is, out in the field, in real life. And your dad is very right!

    1. Thank you! I’ll also remember that. 🙂 hopefully in the future you get to read happier and more hopeful anecdotes about my med life here.

      Indeed, there’s a bigger picture amidst this.

  2. Karen! >:D< I get that feeling a lot, actually. Medicine's one big forest and we have to get to know each tree. Some do it effortlessly while most of us find it a struggle.

    Everytime I feel bad, iniisip ko na lang, "Di bale, I'm here naman t…o learn, not to show off. Mastery learning is my goal."

    I loved the part when your Kuya said "passion over neurons." True! A concept would be a waste of neurons when you fail to realize what it's worth.

    I'd like to share with you two important quotes I've learned from my professor Dr. Ivan Villespin:

    "Brilliance is not a monopoly of any institution or individual."

    "The biggest obstacle to learning is the illusion of knowledge."

    1. Thank you, Chesca! 🙂 i like the last quote:
      “the biggest obstacle to learning is the illusion of knowledge.” 🙂

      here’s to mastery learning! see you very soon 🙂

  3. I’ve felt that more this LU4, dealing with competence issues. But hey, we are now entering LU5. We’re making it one year at a time. =)

Leave a Reply

