Complicated

Photosource

“Why’d you have to go and make things so complicated?”

Do you remember your angsty days when you were still in your teens? I’ve been stuck with that song for how many hours now. It’s Avril Lavigne’s song, Complicated. I used to like her songs, and feel so cool trying to sing her songs. Now that I try to listen to them again, there’s no coolness to it anymore but just nostalgia of my high school days. I don’t want to critique her song right now, but I just want to find a little sense in it somehow, at least in some part of it.

I’ve grown to realize that a part of keeping stress away is by not making things complicated. My math teacher back in high school would repeatedly say, “simplify, simplify, simplify”. When it seems the complexity of our thoughts, actions and emotions are already causing a lot of confusion and disorder, we compartmentalize and simplify. There are steps to approaching a problem, but sometimes even those steps seem complicated. Not everything is solved in mathematical logic, some are simply worked with creativity.

 

—-

Countdown: 17 days to go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

